After our adventure on the Camino de Santiago I finally decided to take the plunge and start the project of my capsule wardrobe. I have been reading the Caroline’s blog Unfancy for a while and I really liked the idea of it. I was intimidated by the decision of getting rid of all the clothes that I so carefully had accumulated over the years.

Why was the Camino the turning point? Because I survived 10 days living out of a backpack. A rather small backpack. It felt good. I had what I needed and there was no anxiety about what to wear. The clothes I carried were fitting and  comfortable, why couldn’t I do that everyday?

Caroline has a 37 piece wardrobe. This doesn’t include bags, accessorizes, pajamas and working out clothes. It does include outwear and shoes.

She has done her own division but encourages you to be flexible into what you need. The idea is that you keep that same wardrobe for the whole season and not to buy any clothes in 3 months. Once the season is coming to an end you keep some clothes, store the more seasonal ones to take out the next year and buy new ones, 4 or 5 pieces to keep it up to date.

Her division goes: 9 shoes, 9 bottoms, 15 tops, 2 dresses and 2 jackets.

I have less shoes and more dresses and jackets.

I have been with it for a while now and I have to say that it makes me feel good. I did not buy any clothes. I realized that I did not have enough shoes and I try to keep everything within the same style so I can actually wear everything and be comfortable with it.

I will start planning my winter wardrobe fairly soon. I already have some ideas of what I will need for the colder months and what I’m missing in my current wardrobe.

I have also been eyeing some apps to organize better and actually keep count of what you wear most so you can plan better for the next season.

You can also listen to her on the podcast The Lively Show: How to Create a Capsule Wardrobe (Oct, 9th 2014)

Do you have a capsule wardrobe?

