IMG_0882.PNG

Making a list of things you want to do or achieve is very easy, I love making lists and setting objectives for everything. To-Do lists are one of my favorites. The problem is that sometimes we do not complete the tasks or we realize that the target that we set is out of our reach and if we don’t finish we might end up feeling of anxious or defeated.

It takes time to not be a procrastinator (I still haven’t figure it out)  and making good objectives will help you achieve your goal without feeling guilty.

If you still don’t know it, I’m going to introduce you to the SMART technique, it is a pretty old trick (well, 1981, not that old!) that in a nutshell it tells you to be as specific as you can when you are creating a list of objectives.

SMART is an acronym that goes as follows:

  • Specific – target a specific area for improvement.
  • Measurable – quantify or at least suggest an indicator of progress.
  • Assignable – specify who will do it.
  • Realistic – state what results can realistically be achieved, given available resources.
  • Time-related – specify when the result(s) can be achieved.

In my case the most important of all the aspects if the fact that I have to be realistic about my time, my commitment and taking into account the unexpected situations that may appear.

Therefore I might think, I want to write a blog, but it is so much better to write: I will write 1 post with more than 500 words every week and it has to be post on the latest on Sunday.

I found a way to keep yourself motivated is to publicly announce that you are committed to a cause, like quitting smoking!

At the beginning it may seem intimidating as you can feel judge and be afraid of failing, just remember, your close ones are there to help! If you do not feel like telling your close circle for the reasons mentioned above you can always tell your blogosphere or use: http://www.stickk.com/ A good way to get a support group and community to help you achieve your goals.

Other thing that might be good for you it is to write a statement or a memorandum with the reasons that led you to that choice so you can remember them in times of procrastination or stress.

If you are interested in the procrastination topic and you feel like procrastinating check out this:

http://waitbutwhy.com/2013/10/why-procrastinators-procrastinate.html

It is a very good way of explaining the process with great examples. Congrats to the creator, made me laugh for a long while.

So the next time you set yourself a target, do it in a SMART way.

I have been almost 10 months without smoking! I will write about how I did it in another post soon.

Have you ever set yourself a difficult target that you accomplished?

Have you used any of the above mentioned techniques?

